Viva La Mexico!

So, this past weekend (3/27-3/29/09) I went to Piedras Negras, Mexico. Now, I know what a lot of people might think, “Lucky! You got to skip a Friday to go on vacation in Mexico.” It’s not what you think, though. I didn’t go to Mexico for a vacation, or some time off. I went on a medical mission. 

A medical mission: you might not have heard of that before. A medical mission is when a group of medical professionals, and anyone else who wants to help,  get together to help people in a different country with medical care. This is typically through a Christian missionary. Now, I’m not Christian, I just wanted to help.

Piedras Negras isn’t the richest of towns, by any means. The nicest hotel in town is the Quality Inn, where we stayed, which is not considered a very nice hotel in the states. However, the hotel wasn’t the important part of my trip.

We woke up Saturday morning, bright and early in our hotel. We packed the medical supplies and headed to the clinic. When we arrived around 7:50 am, there were already patients waiting for medical attention. Because I don’t have a medical license, I was nicknamed the “Child Life Psychologist”. That basically means I entertained the little kids the entire trip. I couldn’t have asked for a better job, to be honest. 

I read to the kids, and hand them read to me. I even taught a little girl how to read. I also played games such as Simon says with the children, and colored pictures with them. Even though I performed such basic tasks, I still feel like I helped. I can tell the children greatly appreciated my presence, they told me so. May I remind you that I had to speak in Spanish ALL weekend, and it was hard to adjust back to English. Let’s just say, my Spanish has improved now.

It’s not so great to play favorites, but I did have favorites. Keila, 5, and her cousin, Dora, 3, were two of them. Those two  little girls were so adorable. Keila was originally scared to see the doctor, and her mother was being seen by another doctor at the time, and since I had been playing with Keila for about an hour, she was comfortable with me. Keila would NOT go into the doctor’s office without me there. I held her hand when she was scared, and everything turned out okay for her. 
 
So, even though I was only around these kids for two or three days, I feel as though there is a bond there now. I look forward to going back to Mexico for years to come, in order to help, even if my  tasks are petty.

Oh, and I also drank some of the water there, by accident, and got sick! My advice to you: DON’T DRINK THE WATER!

So, that was like, an annoyingly long, ranting blog. My apologies, I just wanted details in there. I also realize it was a tad cliche or cheesy, sorry.

Song of the week:
Kids In Love – Red Car Wire 

~ by erinpeaceofmind on March 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
